Summer Salad Bonanza

It’s hot. Las Vegas summer hot. I forget every year just how hot that is…and it’s just getting started. It’s 105 daily and will climb from there. When it gets hot like this, salads are my go-to meal of choice. Easy. Fast. Won’t heat up my kitchen. Here are three I’ve rocked this week:

Chicken Tortellini Caesar Salad

This recipe is adapted from a spinach tortellini salad I made years ago…couldn’t find the recipe so I made this one up.

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
1 pkg of frozen cheese tortellini
1 bag baby spinach
Shaved Parmesan cheese
1/2 bag of Caesar croutons (I threw these in because I had them but I could have done without)
1/2 bottle of Ken’s Light Caesar dressing (the BEST dressing in the entire world)

  • Cut chicken into bite sized pieces, drizzle a bit of olive oil into a pan and season chicken (we use a combination of Lowry’s season salt, black pepper, granulated garlic and granulated onion.) Cook through.
  • At the same time, cook tortellini according to package directions.
  • In a large bowl, combine spinach, chicken and tortellini.
  • Top with cheese and croutons.
  • Toss with dressing.

Greek Chicken Salad

This recipe is an adaptation of a Greek chicken recipe I pinned on Pinterest. You can find the original recipe here.

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
3 Roma tomatoes, chopped
1 small cucumber, skinned and chopped
1/2 can black olives (the original recipe used Kalamatas, which would be better, but I already had black olives)
1 small container of Athenos garlic & herb crumbled feta
Juice of two lemons
Drizzle of olive oil (I didn’t measure….sorry…..)
Salt & Pepper to taste
Bag of salad (I used a garden mix, again because I had it, but if I was buying specifically for this recipe I would use baby spinach)

  • Cut chicken into bite sized pieces, drizzle a bit of olive oil into a pan and season chicken (we use a combination of Lowry’s season salt, black pepper, granulated garlic and granulated onion.) Cook through.
  • In a medium-sized bowl, combine tomatoes, cucumber, olives and feta. Dress with lemon juice, olive oil, salt and pepper. Toss to combine.
  • Plate chicken on a bed of salad, top with tomato mixture.

Red Potato Salad

This is another recipe that I found somewhere years ago but have adjusted to my taste and now just make from memory…so I think, technically, this is my recipe now. ;-) Also, technically, this is a side dish but I didn’t think you needed a picture of the hot dog it accompanied.

5 lb. bag of red potatoes
1/2 jar light mayonnaise*
3 tbsp Dijon mustard*
One bunch of green onions, diced*
Salt & Pepper to taste

Depending on the size of the potatoes, cut in quarters or eighths. Leave the skins on.
Boil potatoes until done, drain.
Let potatoes cool then combine with mayonnaise, mustard, green onions, salt & pepper.
Tastes best if you let refrigerate for a few hours before serving.

*I never actually measure, these are my best estimates. Adjust to your personal tastes.

Leave a Reply

